Riverside vs Transistor: which costs less?
For a new show (1,000 downloads), Transistor is cheaper (Riverside Pro $29 vs Transistor Starter $19 a month). Across the 7 needs below, Riverside is cheaper in 3 and Transistor in 4.
Last checked 2026-10-18 on the official pages.
Monthly cost for each need
Cheapest fitting plan of each, monthly billing, add-ons included.
| Need | Riverside | Transistor | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| a new show (1,000 downloads) | Pro $29 | Starter $19 | Transistor by $10 |
| 10,000 downloads a month | Pro $29 | Starter $19 | Transistor by $10 |
| 50,000 downloads a month | Pro $29 | Professional $49 | Riverside by $20 |
| 150,000 downloads a month | Pro $29 | Business $99 | Riverside by $70 |
| 3 podcasts, 10,000 downloads | no plan fits | Starter $19 | Transistor (only one fits) |
| a video podcast, 5,000 downloads | Grow $39 | no plan fits | Riverside (only one fits) |
| a daily show (12 upload hours a month) | Pro $29 | Starter $19 | Transistor by $10 |
Your own numbers · Riverside pricing · Transistor pricing
Visit Riverside (official site) ↗
Visit Transistor (official site) ↗
Riverside plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually (per month) | Podcasts | Downloads / month | Upload hours / month | Video podcast | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro | $29/mo | $24/mo | 1 | not stated | not stated | not stated | Recording + editing + podcast hosting; show count not stated (Grow lists 2 shows), so 1 is assumed |
| Grow | $39/mo | $34/mo | 2 | not stated | not stated | yes | Podcast hosting for 2 shows, video to Apple Podcasts, video hosting |
Transistor plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually (per month) | Podcasts | Downloads / month | Upload hours / month | Video podcast | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $19/mo | $15.83/mo | unlimited / no cap stated | 20,000 | no cap stated | not stated | |
| Professional | $49/mo | $40.83/mo | unlimited / no cap stated | 100,000 | no cap stated | not stated | |
| Business | $99/mo | $82.50/mo | unlimited / no cap stated | 250,000 | no cap stated | not stated |
Total = plan price + any paid extra podcasts. Download and upload caps are the plan limits each host states; 'no cap stated' means the pricing page sets none (most call it unlimited or unmetered); Fireside and Podbean Network cap bandwidth in GB/TB, which is shown but not converted to downloads. Upload hours are audio hours (video uses more storage). 'Video podcast' = the host lists video podcast hosting on that plan. monthly price = no annual price is published as a number, so the monthly price is used. Ties are broken by name. Affiliate status is never used.
Frequently asked questions
Is Riverside cheaper than Transistor?
For a new show (1,000 downloads), Transistor is cheaper (Riverside Pro $29 vs Transistor Starter $19 a month). Across the 7 needs below, Riverside is cheaper in 3 and Transistor in 4.
What do Riverside and Transistor cost per month?
Riverside: Pro $29; Grow $39. Transistor: Starter $19; Professional $49; Business $99 (monthly billing where published).
Do Riverside or Transistor have a free trial?
Riverside: 14-day free trial. Transistor: 14-day free trial.