Fireside vs Transistor: which costs less?
For a new show (1,000 downloads), Fireside is cheaper (Fireside Starter $9 vs Transistor Starter $19 a month). Across the 6 needs below, Fireside is cheaper in 5 and Transistor in 1.
Last checked 2026-10-18 on the official pages.
Monthly cost for each need
Cheapest fitting plan of each, monthly billing, add-ons included.
| Need | Fireside | Transistor | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| a new show (1,000 downloads) | Starter $9 | Starter $19 | Fireside by $10 |
| 10,000 downloads a month | Starter $9 | Starter $19 | Fireside by $10 |
| 50,000 downloads a month | Starter $9 | Professional $49 | Fireside by $40 |
| 150,000 downloads a month | Starter $9 | Business $99 | Fireside by $90 |
| 3 podcasts, 10,000 downloads | Standard $35 | Starter $19 | Transistor by $16 |
| a daily show (12 upload hours a month) | Starter $9 | Starter $19 | Fireside by $10 |
Your own numbers · Fireside pricing · Transistor pricing
Visit Fireside (official site) ↗
Visit Transistor (official site) ↗
Fireside plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually (per month) | Podcasts | Downloads / month | Upload hours / month | Video podcast | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $9/mo | $8.25/mo | 1 | 500GB bandwidth a month (not converted to downloads) | no cap stated | not stated | |
| Standard | $19/mo | $17.42/mo | 1 (+$8/mo each extra, $7.33 on annual) | 1TB bandwidth a month (not converted to downloads) | no cap stated | not stated | +$8/mo per extra podcast ($88/yr) |
| Professional | $49/mo | $44.92/mo | 2 (+$8/mo each extra, $7.33 on annual) | 5TB bandwidth a month (not converted to downloads) | no cap stated | not stated | +$8/mo per extra podcast ($88/yr) |
Transistor plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually (per month) | Podcasts | Downloads / month | Upload hours / month | Video podcast | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $19/mo | $15.83/mo | unlimited / no cap stated | 20,000 | no cap stated | not stated | |
| Professional | $49/mo | $40.83/mo | unlimited / no cap stated | 100,000 | no cap stated | not stated | |
| Business | $99/mo | $82.50/mo | unlimited / no cap stated | 250,000 | no cap stated | not stated |
Total = plan price + any paid extra podcasts. Download and upload caps are the plan limits each host states; 'no cap stated' means the pricing page sets none (most call it unlimited or unmetered); Fireside and Podbean Network cap bandwidth in GB/TB, which is shown but not converted to downloads. Upload hours are audio hours (video uses more storage). 'Video podcast' = the host lists video podcast hosting on that plan. monthly price = no annual price is published as a number, so the monthly price is used. Ties are broken by name. Affiliate status is never used.
Frequently asked questions
Is Fireside cheaper than Transistor?
For a new show (1,000 downloads), Fireside is cheaper (Fireside Starter $9 vs Transistor Starter $19 a month). Across the 6 needs below, Fireside is cheaper in 5 and Transistor in 1.
What do Fireside and Transistor cost per month?
Fireside: Starter $9; Standard $19; Professional $49. Transistor: Starter $19; Professional $49; Business $99 (monthly billing where published).
Do Fireside or Transistor have a free trial?
Fireside: no free trial stated on the pricing page. Transistor: 14-day free trial.