PodHostCost
Beta. Plan prices and limits come only from each host's official pricing page, in USD, before tax. Hosts that don't cap downloads or uploads are shown as 'no cap stated'.
Home › Compare › Captivate vs Castos

Captivate vs Castos: which costs less?

For a new show (1,000 downloads), Captivate is cheaper (Captivate Personal $19 vs Castos Essentials $19 a month). Across the 7 needs below, Captivate is cheaper in 4 and Castos in 3.

Last checked 2026-10-18 on the official pages.

Monthly cost for each need

Cheapest fitting plan of each, monthly billing, add-ons included.

NeedCaptivateCastosCheaper
a new show (1,000 downloads)Personal $19Essentials $19Captivate by $0
10,000 downloads a monthPersonal $19Essentials $19Captivate by $0
50,000 downloads a monthProfessional $49Essentials $19Castos by $30
150,000 downloads a monthProfessional $49Essentials $19Castos by $30
3 podcasts, 10,000 downloadsPersonal $19Essentials $19Captivate by $0
a video podcast, 5,000 downloadsno plan fitsPro $99Castos (only one fits)
a daily show (12 upload hours a month)Personal $19Essentials $19Captivate by $0

Your own numbers · Captivate pricing · Castos pricing

Try Captivate ↗ (affiliate link)

Try Castos ↗ (affiliate link)

Disclosure: Links marked “affiliate link” (Castos, Captivate) earn PodHostCost a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you. Prices, totals and rankings are calculated the same way for every host and never depend on affiliate status.

Captivate plans

PlanBilled monthlyBilled annually (per month)PodcastsDownloads / monthUpload hours / monthVideo podcastNotes
Personal$19/mo$17/mounlimited / no cap stated30,000no cap statednot stated
Professional$49/mo$44/mounlimited / no cap stated150,000no cap statednot stated
Business$99/mo$90/mounlimited / no cap stated300,000no cap statednot stated

Castos plans

PlanBilled monthlyBilled annually (per month)PodcastsDownloads / monthUpload hours / monthVideo podcastNotes
Essentials$19/monot published as a numberunlimited / no cap statedno cap statedno cap statednot stated
Growth$49/monot published as a numberunlimited / no cap statedno cap statedno cap statednot stated
Pro$99/monot published as a numberunlimited / no cap statedno cap statedno cap statedyesVideo file hosting

Total = plan price + any paid extra podcasts. Download and upload caps are the plan limits each host states; 'no cap stated' means the pricing page sets none (most call it unlimited or unmetered); Fireside and Podbean Network cap bandwidth in GB/TB, which is shown but not converted to downloads. Upload hours are audio hours (video uses more storage). 'Video podcast' = the host lists video podcast hosting on that plan. monthly price = no annual price is published as a number, so the monthly price is used. Ties are broken by name. Affiliate status is never used.

Frequently asked questions

Is Captivate cheaper than Castos?

For a new show (1,000 downloads), Captivate is cheaper (Captivate Personal $19 vs Castos Essentials $19 a month). Across the 7 needs below, Captivate is cheaper in 4 and Castos in 3.

What do Captivate and Castos cost per month?

Captivate: Personal $19; Professional $49; Business $99. Castos: Essentials $19; Growth $49; Pro $99 (monthly billing where published).

Do Captivate or Castos have a free trial?

Captivate: 30-day free trial. Castos: 14-day free trial.