Buzzsprout vs Riverside: which costs less?
For a new show (1,000 downloads), Buzzsprout is cheaper (Buzzsprout Audio $18 vs Riverside Pro $29 a month). Across the 7 needs below, Buzzsprout is cheaper in 6 and Riverside in 1.
Last checked 2026-10-18 on the official pages.
Monthly cost for each need
Cheapest fitting plan of each, monthly billing, add-ons included.
| Need | Buzzsprout | Riverside | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| a new show (1,000 downloads) | Audio $18 | Pro $29 | Buzzsprout by $11 |
| 10,000 downloads a month | Audio $18 | Pro $29 | Buzzsprout by $11 |
| 50,000 downloads a month | Audio $18 | Pro $29 | Buzzsprout by $11 |
| 150,000 downloads a month | Audio $18 | Pro $29 | Buzzsprout by $11 |
| 3 podcasts, 10,000 downloads | Multi-Podcast (5 shows) $36 | no plan fits | Buzzsprout (only one fits) |
| a video podcast, 5,000 downloads | Audio + Video $30 | Grow $39 | Buzzsprout by $9 |
| a daily show (12 upload hours a month) | Multi-Podcast (5 shows) $36 | Pro $29 | Riverside by $7 |
Your own numbers · Buzzsprout pricing · Riverside pricing
Visit Buzzsprout (official site) ↗
Visit Riverside (official site) ↗
Buzzsprout plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually (per month) | Podcasts | Downloads / month | Upload hours / month | Video podcast | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Audio | $18/mo | $15/mo | 1 | no cap stated | 6 | not stated | 6 upload hours a month (72 a year on annual billing) |
| Audio + Video | $30/mo | $25/mo | 1 | no cap stated | 6 | yes | Video on Apple Podcasts, Spotify and YouTube; 6 upload hours a month |
| Multi-Podcast (5 shows) | $36/mo | $30/mo | 5 | no cap stated | 15 | not stated | Audio, up to 5 podcasts, 15 upload hours a month shared (the 10-podcast and video variants are priced in a selector and not tracked) |
Riverside plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually (per month) | Podcasts | Downloads / month | Upload hours / month | Video podcast | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro | $29/mo | $24/mo | 1 | not stated | not stated | not stated | Recording + editing + podcast hosting; show count not stated (Grow lists 2 shows), so 1 is assumed |
| Grow | $39/mo | $34/mo | 2 | not stated | not stated | yes | Podcast hosting for 2 shows, video to Apple Podcasts, video hosting |
Total = plan price + any paid extra podcasts. Download and upload caps are the plan limits each host states; 'no cap stated' means the pricing page sets none (most call it unlimited or unmetered); Fireside and Podbean Network cap bandwidth in GB/TB, which is shown but not converted to downloads. Upload hours are audio hours (video uses more storage). 'Video podcast' = the host lists video podcast hosting on that plan. monthly price = no annual price is published as a number, so the monthly price is used. Ties are broken by name. Affiliate status is never used.
Frequently asked questions
Is Buzzsprout cheaper than Riverside?
For a new show (1,000 downloads), Buzzsprout is cheaper (Buzzsprout Audio $18 vs Riverside Pro $29 a month). Across the 7 needs below, Buzzsprout is cheaper in 6 and Riverside in 1.
What do Buzzsprout and Riverside cost per month?
Buzzsprout: Audio $18; Audio + Video $30; Multi-Podcast (5 shows) $36. Riverside: Pro $29; Grow $39 (monthly billing where published).
Do Buzzsprout or Riverside have a free trial?
Buzzsprout: free plan to try it, no credit card (limits not listed on the pricing page, so not ranked). Riverside: 14-day free trial.