Acast vs Buzzsprout: which costs less?
For a new show (1,000 downloads), Acast is cheaper (Acast Essential $14.99 vs Buzzsprout Audio $18 a month). Across the 7 needs below, Acast is cheaper in 6 and Buzzsprout in 1.
Last checked 2026-10-18 on the official pages.
Monthly cost for each need
Cheapest fitting plan of each, monthly billing, add-ons included.
| Need | Acast | Buzzsprout | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| a new show (1,000 downloads) | Essential $14.99 | Audio $18 | Acast by $3.01 |
| 10,000 downloads a month | Essential $14.99 | Audio $18 | Acast by $3.01 |
| 50,000 downloads a month | Essential $14.99 | Audio $18 | Acast by $3.01 |
| 150,000 downloads a month | Essential $14.99 | Audio $18 | Acast by $3.01 |
| 3 podcasts, 10,000 downloads | Essential $14.99 | Multi-Podcast (5 shows) $36 | Acast by $21.01 |
| a video podcast, 5,000 downloads | Video $39.99 | Audio + Video $30 | Buzzsprout by $9.99 |
| a daily show (12 upload hours a month) | Essential $14.99 | Multi-Podcast (5 shows) $36 | Acast by $21.01 |
Your own numbers · Acast pricing · Buzzsprout pricing
Visit Buzzsprout (official site) ↗
Acast plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually (per month) | Podcasts | Downloads / month | Upload hours / month | Video podcast | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | $0/mo | $0/mo | 1 | no cap stated | no cap stated | not stated | 5 episodes (unlimited if the show joins Acast's ad marketplace); not ranked because the calculator does not count episodes |
| Essential | $14.99/mo | not published as a number | unlimited / no cap stated | no cap stated | no cap stated | not stated | |
| Pro | $29.99/mo | not published as a number | unlimited / no cap stated | no cap stated | no cap stated | not stated | |
| Video | $39.99/mo | not published as a number | unlimited / no cap stated | no cap stated | no cap stated | yes | Up to 10,000 video views a month |
Buzzsprout plans
| Plan | Billed monthly | Billed annually (per month) | Podcasts | Downloads / month | Upload hours / month | Video podcast | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Audio | $18/mo | $15/mo | 1 | no cap stated | 6 | not stated | 6 upload hours a month (72 a year on annual billing) |
| Audio + Video | $30/mo | $25/mo | 1 | no cap stated | 6 | yes | Video on Apple Podcasts, Spotify and YouTube; 6 upload hours a month |
| Multi-Podcast (5 shows) | $36/mo | $30/mo | 5 | no cap stated | 15 | not stated | Audio, up to 5 podcasts, 15 upload hours a month shared (the 10-podcast and video variants are priced in a selector and not tracked) |
Total = plan price + any paid extra podcasts. Download and upload caps are the plan limits each host states; 'no cap stated' means the pricing page sets none (most call it unlimited or unmetered); Fireside and Podbean Network cap bandwidth in GB/TB, which is shown but not converted to downloads. Upload hours are audio hours (video uses more storage). 'Video podcast' = the host lists video podcast hosting on that plan. monthly price = no annual price is published as a number, so the monthly price is used. Ties are broken by name. Affiliate status is never used.
Frequently asked questions
Is Acast cheaper than Buzzsprout?
For a new show (1,000 downloads), Acast is cheaper (Acast Essential $14.99 vs Buzzsprout Audio $18 a month). Across the 7 needs below, Acast is cheaper in 6 and Buzzsprout in 1.
What do Acast and Buzzsprout cost per month?
Acast: Starter $0; Essential $14.99; Pro $29.99; Video $39.99. Buzzsprout: Audio $18; Audio + Video $30; Multi-Podcast (5 shows) $36 (monthly billing where published).
Do Acast or Buzzsprout have a free trial?
Acast: free Starter plan (1 show, 5 episodes). Buzzsprout: free plan to try it, no credit card (limits not listed on the pricing page, so not ranked).